View Full Version : URGENT: Can this be done?
This guy's spamming my guestbook as I type this, and I want to ban him from my site, can this be done? HTACCESS? Please help!
put this in your .htaccess file:
<Limit GET>
order deny,allow
deny from 123.45.6.7
</Limit>
changing the 123.45.6.7 to the spammer's IP
hth,
-L
Merci
Now, to get his IP... any ideas?
download your access log (if you have logging turned on).. if he was doing it in the last few minutes.. you should be able to narrow his IP down by time and pages accessed. I believe the appropriate lines should be at the bottom of the file.
Awh, forgot about that... Thanks!
Originally posted by Laurey
<Limit GET>
order deny,allow
deny from 123.45.6.7
</Limit>
What part do I repeat if I want to ban more than IP?
check this site:
http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/htaccess5.shtml
there is something about blocking with htaccess in the help.powweb.com/tutorials as well
Originally posted by Fraki
What part do I repeat if I want to ban more than IP?
the:
deny from 0.0.0.0
of course.. replacing w/the appropriate IP ;)
Seems like he's masking his IP somehow... The IP that was logged traces back to radware.anonymizer.com.
He was posting 2-3messages/second, and his IP was different each time...
Can I do anything?
If the IP's were all in the same block, you might try blocking whole blocks of IP addresses.
Of course, anyone else within that block won't have access, either...
It's a bit late now, but for a 'quick' fix.. you could rename the cgi that your guest book uses so he's unable to post while you look up IP's.
As Ajarn said, blocking a block of IP's is a way to go also. Find out what this randomizer does/uses.. does it relay for people? if so.. block all IP's from them. Does it spoof them? if so.. that's gonna make it harder.
From what I can see.. anonymizer relays.. get thier IP block(s) & deny them in your .htaccess :)
-L
vBulletin v3.6.0, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.