PDA

View Full Version : mail03.powweb.com blacklisted by spamhaus?


ias
5-30-03, 09:27 AM
Is mail03.powweb.com currently blacklisted by spamhaus (or has it been at some time in the past)?

One of our guys tried to send a mail and it got bounced back with the message:

This is the Postfix program at host mail03.powweb.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own text from the message returned below.

The Postfix program
<xxx@ed.ac.uk>: host pascoe.ucs.ed.ac.uk[129.215.128.240] said: 550
5.7.1 <xxx@ed.ac.uk>... Address 63.251.216.36 blacklisted in
spamhaus: see http://www.ucs.ed.ac.uk/mailerr.html (in reply to RCPT TO
command)

(I've replaced the actual email name with xxx to protect the guys privacy)

I've check spamhaus and mail03.powweb.com doesn't seem to listed and SPEWS doesn't appear to have it listed either.

[However I did notice that mail02.powweb.com is currently list on the spamhaus SBL]

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might be happening here? (before I get on the phone to the receiving sysadmin)

Cheers

Ian

landshark73
5-30-03, 01:12 PM
I also got the exact same email this morning when sending a message to a friend. Never had this problem before sending to his email from my email.

I also received this one separately today while trying to write another friend who I email quite often:

This is the Postfix program at host mail03.powweb.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned
below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the message returned below.

The Postfix program

Rejected: 63.251.216.36 listed at relays.osirusoft.com

----

Why are my emails getting sent back all of a sudden? Can someone look into this?


Thanks,
Ryan

GayleN
5-30-03, 01:42 PM
I experienced the same situation this morning when trying to reply to a message sent to me. In fact that's why I logged into the forum. The receiving server rejected my message and returned it to me with the explanation that it was judged to be spam because the originating IP (pointing to mail03.powweb.com) had been blacklisted. Spamhaus doesn't list the mail03 server, but when you use the query box to check other spam blacklist systems, several of them come up with this mail server's IP as being blacklisted.

--Gayle

James
5-30-03, 02:19 PM
We had a customer blacklisted which has caused this problem. The customer's package has been disabled and we have contacted SpamHaus. We hope to be removed from the blacklist soon. Sorry for any inconvenience.

lsimpson4
5-30-03, 07:02 PM
Name: mail02.powweb.com
Address: 63.251.216.35

Has been listed at sbl.spamhaus.org too :-(

James
5-30-03, 07:51 PM
If it was, it is not now.

lsimpson4
5-30-03, 08:00 PM
Ok cheers.

FYI - I sent an e-mail 1 hour, 15 minutes ago and it was rejected.