PDA

View Full Version : I got an email...and I have a question


Tidane
8-10-03, 10:38 AM
I got an e-mail,

Subjec-From-Date Time-Size
your account paeikvro-admin@thefinalhaven.com-Sun, 10 Aug 2003 06:12:57 -0700 (PDT)-28.7K

Is this from powweb or something...becuase there is no admin@thefinalhaven.com. I replyed to test it, and it the reply came back to me (thefinalhaven.com is my domain). It wants me to read an attachment, and I'm not doing that, because I cannot verify who it is from. What should I do?


Oh, and here's the actual message. I thought that admin@thefinalhaven.com was the @thefinalhaven.com, but I'm not sure, and just to be safe.

I would like to inform you about important information regarding your
email address. This email address will be expiring.
Please read attachment for details.
---
Best regards, Administrator
paepkvrk


I believe it might be spam, but if it is important, I don't want to miss anything.

stevel
8-10-03, 11:37 AM
It's a virus. Delete it. For more information, see Symantec's description (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.mimail.a@mm.html)

Jade Dragon
8-10-03, 11:59 AM
Many spammers will spoof the headers to look like you are getting email from yourself or some sort of official place.

If you use Outlook you can right click the header and select properties. Then click on the advanced button and you will only see the text message. This will allow you an extra way to filter those questionable emails.

=)
Jade

Tidane
8-11-03, 10:25 AM
Thanks. I thought it might be. Since I was going through webmail, I knew it wouldn't be able to check the real header (at least I didn't know how). Through OutLook I do it all the time.