PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know what this is?


Builder
10-2-03, 11:57 AM
Roy's thread about log rollover got me looking through my logs for the last day or so and I found the following:

69.20.6.222 - - [30/Sep/2003:23:59:42 -0700] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 4138 "-" "Microsoft URL Control - 6.00.8862"

IP traces back to rackspace.com, but what the heck is "Microsoft URL Control"?

Thanks,
Kevin

tbonekkt
10-2-03, 12:09 PM
That's a new one I've never seen before.

What's even stranger is the fact that rackspace uses Linux:
Apache/1.3.22 (Unix) (Red-Hat/Linux) mod_ssl/2.8.5 OpenSSL/0.9.6b

So I don't understand the Microsoft part either....

Anyone shed light on this?

cdnmama
10-2-03, 12:33 PM
Hi Kevin....every so often I check our logs so I was curious about this too. I did a search on google and there are some threads about it on webmasterworld.com. Has to do with spammer robots looking for holes in formmail.pl. You can read more about it here....

http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum39/858.htm

edit: sorry, I didn't realize you have to be a member to read the threads

Deb

Builder
10-2-03, 01:11 PM
Thanks, Deb -- I was able to browse the information in the link you provided. Since it seems that the Microsoft URL Control just hit my index.htm rather than trying to get to formmail.pl (which I don't use anyway) no harm was done. I guess the hit was from a legit user.... this time.

Thanks again,
Kevin

cdnmama
10-2-03, 02:11 PM
You're welcome :) Glad you got to read it alright, I clicked on the link and got a members only message :eek:

Deb