PDA

View Full Version : WHOIS Data Confirmation????


JeepJeep
1-9-05, 12:59 PM
Sorry, but I won't fall for this one!!!!!!


Dear Valued Customer,

ICANN, the organization responsible for the stability of the Internet,
requires that each domain name registrant be given the opportunity to
correct any inaccurate contact data (WHOIS data) associated with a domain
name registration. Our records for your domain are as follows:

.
.
.
.blah blah, my registrant info
.
.

Registration Service Provider:
PowWeb, Inc., hostmaster@powweb.com
310-278-8926
http://powweb.com
This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords,
DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions.


Record last updated on 05-Oct-2004.
Record expires on 10-May-2005.
Record created on 10-May-2002.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS3.POWWEB.COM 66.152.97.3
NS2.POWWEB.COM 66.152.97.4


Domain status: ACTIVE



To review and update your WHOIS contact information, please log into
our management interface at: http://manage.opensrs.net

If any of the information above is inaccurate, you should correct it.
If all of the information above is accurate, you do not need to take any
action.

Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement,
the provision of false WHOIS information can be grounds for cancellation
of your domain name registration.

If you have any questions or comments regarding ICANN's policy, please
contact
them directly at icann@icann.org.

Thank you for your attention.

Best regards,
PowWeb, Inc.



NOTE: Please do NOT reply to this message. This is an outgoing message
only.

NMS
1-9-05, 01:13 PM
Well, I do not think it SPAM!

Who sent you this email? Registrants are forced to send this email to their clients.

JeepJeep
1-9-05, 01:18 PM
It shows FROM: "PowWeb, Inc." <sysadmin@powweb.com>

But spammers can put anything on that line.

This looks just like any other spam email (EX: Paypal, Banks, etc) where you get sent to a website, and you're suppose to enter your password information.


Tell you what... you don't think it's spam then you can go to the website give http://manage.opensrs.net and put in your info :D

BTW: I've had my account for about 3 years, and I've never gotten anything like that before.

alphadesk
1-9-05, 01:21 PM
No idea who sent this ... but you are required to provide accurate info by "ICANN".

Go to OPS and see if your info is correct.

But you know typos happen everyday ... ;)

mloradites
1-9-05, 01:39 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong but opensrs is some sort of division or related to Tucows, inc and they do the domain registrations for Powweb, and these emails are sent something like once a year, if everythings right you don't have to do anything, but otherwise you are technically supposed to fix it b/c if it's wrong there is some sort of thing where i believe they can terminate your domain ownership

JeepJeep
1-9-05, 01:58 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong but opensrs is some sort of division or related to Tucows, inc and they do the domain registrations for Powweb, and these emails are sent something like once a year, if everythings right you don't have to do anything, but otherwise you are technically supposed to fix it b/c if it's wrong there is some sort of thing where i believe they can terminate your domain ownership

I don't see how people are suppose to know this.

The email looks fake, the website http://manage.opensrs.net looks too generic to be real. I did change my info in OPS 4 months ago, so why isn't it sent directly to "opensrs"?


There's just too many people trying to get your info for me to take that email seriously.

NMS
1-9-05, 02:07 PM
I receive this from my registrar every time it is close to renewal:

As of October 31, 2003 we are required by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) to send you this reminder by the Anniversary date of each registered Domain Name that is subject to the terms and conditions of that organization.

alphadesk
1-9-05, 02:10 PM
I don't see how people are suppose to know this.

The email looks fake, the website http://manage.opensrs.net looks too generic to be real. I did change my info in OPS 4 months ago, so why isn't it sent directly to "opensrs"?


There's just too many people trying to get your info for me to take that email seriously.If you have "accurate info" that you changed from OPS ... you're good to go.

stevel
1-9-05, 03:12 PM
The message is legitimate. Registrars are required to ask the registrants to confirm contact info once a year. The message you get will vary depending on your registrar.

Skunkboy
1-9-05, 03:33 PM
another "harder to hide" way to verify your e-mail, take a look a the "full headers" and you'll see just exactly where it came from.

IanS
1-9-05, 04:09 PM
I receive this from my registrar every time it is close to renewal:

As of October 31, 2003 we are required by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) to send you this reminder by the Anniversary date of each registered Domain Name that is subject to the terms and conditions of that organization.Me too. I had the same reaction to the first batch of e-mails I got that were identical (same registrar, different domain names). As the data entered was correct I was in the clear. I've since had very similar e-mails from a number of other registrars (I'm in the process of consolidating, but haven't finished yet).

The e-mail is more likely than not to be genuine, and if the data you've got in OPS and shows up in a WHOIS search is accurate you don't have to do anything anyway.

You're wise to be suspicious and not use a link in the e-mail. Go to the Manage Domain/OPENSRS part of OPS and use that link if you need to change any details.

Dave
1-9-05, 11:42 PM
It shows FROM: "PowWeb, Inc." <sysadmin@powweb.com>

But spammers can put anything on that line.

This looks just like any other spam email (EX: Paypal, Banks, etc) where you get sent to a website, and you're suppose to enter your password information.


Tell you what... you don't think it's spam then you can go to the website give http://manage.opensrs.net and put in your info :D

BTW: I've had my account for about 3 years, and I've never gotten anything like that before.

This email was sent out as required by ICANN to make sure contact information on domains is accurate.

Please view the official ICANN Whois Data Reminder Policy (http://www.icann.org/registrars/wdrp.htm) for more information.

Cheers,

JeepJeep
1-9-05, 11:59 PM
This email was sent out as required by ICANN to make sure contact information on domains is accurate.

Please view the official ICANN Whois Data Reminder Policy (http://www.icann.org/registrars/wdrp.htm) for more information.

Cheers,

I guarantee you that a LOT of people will be deleting that message because it just looks too fake.... ESPECIALLY the link.

I have never gotten this email before (nor anything like it), so why in the world would I believe it now.

I have never heard of "ICANN" until I got that email.

I still will NOT click on that link and enter my personal information. They want it, they can get it from you guys.

VERY UNPROFESSIONAL in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dave
1-10-05, 12:14 AM
I apologize for the content of the message and how it was written. It was sent by our registrar Tucows/OpenSRS and instructs users to go to manage.opensrs.net to enter updated contact information. Technically, this is incorrect. If you need to update contact information on your domain, and you registered it through PowWeb, you will need to do so through our OPS interface.

Login to PowWeb Member OPS at http://ops.powweb.com
Click the "Domains" tab
Login to OpenSRS with your username and password
Click the "Contacts" tab
Click the "owner" tab
Enter your correct name, address, phone number, and valid email address in the fields provided
On "Apply to:" make sure you click "admin" and "billing"
Click the "Save Contact Information" button

Failure to keep your contact information updated could result in your domain being deleted, so this is very important and should not be ignored.

Cheers,

NMS
1-10-05, 08:20 AM
Dave, why don't you negotiate with tucows about this email? Maybe you can customise it!