PDA

View Full Version : Email bounce backs sometimes


InkBusters
4-8-05, 12:45 AM
Hello.
I have a powweb account, and a set of powweb emails. Most of the users of my powweb email accounts are telling me that they are receiving mail bounce backs. This will happen with some email accounts and not others, yet sending to these accounts from other email accounts works.

I have had them change thier SMTP port to 587, and added "v=spf1 mx -all" to the txt record of my DNS server, but this problem remains.

What are my next options?

InkBusters
4-8-05, 12:48 AM
Error example:
<~~~~~@xprt.net>: host mail.xprt.net[209.102.124.23] said: 550 Access
denied
(in reply to MAIL FROM command)

--A9E0DB05A.1112885854/mail06.powweb.com
Content-Description: Delivery report
Content-Type: message/delivery-status

Reporting-MTA: dns; mail06.powweb.com
X-Postfix-Queue-ID: A9E0DB05A
X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; ~~~~~@inkbusters.net
Arrival-Date: Thu, 7 Apr 2005 07:57:33 -0700 (PDT)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; ~~~~~@xprt.net
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host mail.xprt.net[209.102.124.23] said: 550
Access
denied (in reply to MAIL FROM command)

--A9E0DB05A.1112885854/mail06.powweb.com
Content-Description: Undelivered Message
Content-Type: message/rfc822

Received: from webmail.powweb.com (powweb02.powweb.com [66.152.97.134])
by mail06.powweb.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id A9E0DB05A
for <~~~~~@xprt.net>; Thu, 7 Apr 2005 07:57:33 -0700 (PDT)
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Disposition: inline
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: "~~~~~" <~~~~~@inkbusters.net>
To: ~~~~~@xprt.net
Date: Thu, 07 Apr 2005 14:57:31 -0000
Subject: [Fwd: Ink...]
X-Mailer: PowWeb Hosting Webmail version 3.0
Message-Id: <20050407145733.A9E0DB05A@mail06.powweb.com>

Note: ~~~~~ added for privacy.

KarlFry
4-8-05, 09:43 AM
It sounds like they've blocked our mailserver from reaching theirs:

"Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host mail.xprt.net[209.102.124.23] said: 550
Access denied (in reply to MAIL FROM command)"

Your best bet is to email those full headers to our abuse department at: abuse@powweb.com -- they will be able to look into why this is being blocked and, if there is a block, hopefully get that removed.

-Karl F.
PowWeb Support
http://www.powweb.com

InkBusters
4-8-05, 10:53 PM
This is an example. There are other instances of this problem reported with other ISPs, other addresses.

I'm not sure what Powweb can do, but i am getting 4 to 5 calls a day from people telling me to fix this problem, and its very hard for me, because i have no control over the situation.

Any suggestions are welcome. Of course, im hoping to hear from someone from powweb about this.

IanS
4-9-05, 04:13 AM
Any suggestions are welcome. Of course, im hoping to hear from someone from powweb about this.
As Karl has said, e-mail abuse@powweb.com to be certain of a response from Powweb. You're not certain to get a response from Powweb in these forums.

InkBusters
4-9-05, 08:34 PM
If posting replys from powweb staff is against any rules, i am sorry, and please let me know.

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Powweb Abuse regarding your package. I have sent this to our administrators so that they can look into the possibility that our mail servers may be black-listed from certain networks. Please remain patient and we will get back to you about this ASAP.

Please let us know if we can assist you in any other way.

Galax W.
Powweb Inc.
powweb.com

InkBusters
4-11-05, 06:10 PM
Powweb has contacted me. At least the one server i put up an example of, (xprt.net) is being delt with.

RTH10260
4-11-05, 06:53 PM
At least the one server i put up an example of, (xprt.net) is being delt with.If that mail server admin reveals, which blocking list they are using, and Powweb gets removed from getting listed by that provider, then this may have a cascade effect on all other mail servers using the same list, and your mailings may go thru to many more recipients.

InkBusters
4-11-05, 06:54 PM
they are not sure if they are on a list, or if they were speficicly blocked.