PDA

View Full Version : Website Redirected to Porn Site


Skyarrow1
7-14-05, 11:43 AM
I have had a few complaints that when some customers tried to access my website, they were redirected to a porn site and thought it was mine... any ideas?

Mike

fluKe
7-14-05, 11:52 AM
If your site is hosted here at PowWeb it is very unlikely that this is the case.

Double check your DNS settings to make sure the name servers are correct etc. also make sure and check your .htaccess file and site in general for re-directs that you didn't put there in case your site has been compromised.


I would say though that this is highly unlikely and it's far more likely they have some adware/spyware/browser hijacker on their computer that is re-directing them to dodgy sites.

stevel
7-14-05, 12:06 PM
What's your domain name?

Skyarrow1
7-14-05, 01:40 PM
www.robertson-studio.com

This has only happened to a few users, but it is more than one, so I don't think it was thier computer with spyware.

Mike

KitBear
7-14-05, 01:58 PM
I have a spyware free system and your site worked fine, nice and fast!

Dabrowski
7-14-05, 02:01 PM
Worked for me, too. Although I'd advise against the practice of large images to display what should be plain text.

extras
7-14-05, 02:07 PM
I checked the URL.
I didn't find any iframe or Location header or something suspicious, so far.

But bad people who attacked thousands of PowWeb users are known to test their attack plan
with small number of members before, and it may appear as intermittent problem.

Do you know the name of the Porn site?

NMS
7-14-05, 02:08 PM
I checked the URL.
I didn't find any iframe or Location header or something suspicious, so far.

But bad people who attacked thousands of PowWeb users are known to test their attack plan
with small number of members before, and it may appear as intermittent problem.

Do you know the name of the Porn site?
Do you want to expand your knowledge ;)

extras
7-14-05, 02:20 PM
Sometime CWS people and other criminals leave obvious signatures in their site construction.
If the Porn site belongs to a certain known group,
PowWeb should go into higher alert mode for preventing possible attacks like we've seen before,
and fellow members can start sending e-mails to registrer/ICAN/FBI to take down the sites. ;)

YvetteKuhns
7-14-05, 02:22 PM
I visited www.robertson-studio.com and then I closed the window. I saw no popup, popunder or redirect to another site. I saw no unusual alterations to the source code. The site loaded quickly and there were no problems.

Even if more than one person reported a problem, that doesn't mean it wasn't spyware. Ask each person to install antispyware such as Spybot, update it, then scan for problems. Some people have those stupid programs that are browser companions for shopping.

Check your webstats or error logs for clues. You can also check to see if your .htaccess file was removed, edited or replaced. I truly think it is spyware and not a problem on your server, because someone here should have seen something.

YvetteKuhns
7-14-05, 02:27 PM
I should mention something called Enhance My Search. I had four people contact me and complain that this thing did something when people visited my site. They were from different places and not clients. One person called and threatened to sue me.

I looked up this thing on Google and found other people that were affected by it. It had nothing to do with my site, but it was on the computers of those who complained. There is free software on Major Geeks that has been reported to remove this while other programs such as Spybot did not.

http://www.powerpageswebdesign.com/articles_home_page_hijacking.htm
I posted an article that includes a link to the fix.

diwakergupta
7-14-05, 02:34 PM
I tested your URL on a number of systems with different browers -- nothing seems to be amiss. Are you sure your users typed in the correct URL? A letter off here and there maybe... (though I tried some combinations like robertsan-studio.com but they don't lead anywhere)

Kitchensink108
7-14-05, 02:45 PM
For cleaning up spyware/adware:
Ad-Aware SE - Removes most spyware/adware
Spybot Search & Destroy - Removes the most malicious spyware and other malicious bots
Microsoft AntiSpyware - Really only useful for removing the extremely malicious spyware
HiJack This! - Not for novice users, but a very useful utility for taking down both spyware and viruses

You might ask a favor of one or two visitors who experience the problem to scan their systems with the above programs (all free), and see if that fixes the problem.

It's also fairly common for adware to redirect users to different sites, especially either at random or in place of error pages (usually if you're redirected to an odd search engine, that's adware).

Removing specific malware: http://boards.gamefaqs.com/gfaqs/genmessage.php?board=2000111&topic=21497990
Internet security: http://boards.gamefaqs.com/gfaqs/genmessage.php?board=2000111&topic=15644860

Skyarrow1
7-14-05, 03:01 PM
Thanks everyone for checking. I do not know the site they were directed to, but I have found out that I believe they were all with Alltel for thier ISP. That may be the issue there. I am going to contact them and see what they say.

Thanks again,
Mike

johnbor
7-14-05, 07:32 PM
Thanks everyone for checking. I do not know the site they were directed to, but I have found out that I believe they were all with Alltel for thier ISP. That may be the issue there. I am going to contact them and see what they say.

Thanks again,
Mike


I'm on Alltel and your site looks good from here.. No popup or p%rn here although in your wedding pictures some guy sure is getting pretty lucky with all the kisses from the beautiful women there.... :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Airhead315
7-27-05, 09:18 PM
I saw this post and immediately one thing came to mind...mistype...so I looked into it and www.roberts-studio.com is a porn site...I would not be surprised if your customers simply mistyped the URL.

[bear]
7-27-05, 11:15 PM
lol well that explains it.

Kitchensink108
7-28-05, 12:08 AM
That's an interesting dilemma.

NMS
7-28-05, 01:22 PM
I saw this post and immediately one thing came to mind...mistype...so I looked into it and www.roberts-studio.com is a porn site...I would not be surprised if your customers simply mistyped the URL.
You seem to be knowledgeable about these sites ;)

Bill Ball
7-28-05, 03:55 PM
Nice detective work there, Airhead315.

Bill in CA