PDA

View Full Version : PHP/MySql and Vbulletin....

wpgwave
6-27-02, 11:49 AM
Hi I downloaded vBulletin Lite just to test out... I c you use the fullversion here so someone may beable to help me....

i purchased MySql and got my username/pswd and DB name and where it is... Good right?

Now i put vBulletin into my HTDOCS folder on the server. in the dir it required. Good right?

vBulletin asks me to change the config.php and i do as per the instructions...

$servertype="mysql";

$servername = "xxx.powweb.com";

$dbusername="xxxxx";
$dbpassword="yyyyy";

$dbname"The name I gave it ";

//name for the admin for vBulletin
$cppassword="xxxxx";

ok does this look right?

now vBulletin ask's me to go to the url ex:

http://www.myurl.com/vBulit/admin/install.php

Did it... now i keep getting a 500 error...????? did i miss something... O BTW I am very new at this...

The version of vBulletin was php3.... is this the right one?

thanks!

stagemaster
6-27-02, 11:59 AM
Make sure you transfer all .php files using ASCII text mode (not binary). Then chmod them to 755. Hope that helps! I had the same problem with phpBB.

wpgwave
6-27-02, 12:09 PM
yah i tried phpbb...same thing... ill 2x check the ascii mode... also i have no idea about the chmod 755? what is it and what can i do to fix it!!! THANKS! for such a fast response!!!

stagemaster
6-27-02, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by wpgwave
... also i have no idea about the chmod 755? what is it and what can i do to fix it!!! chmod is a Unix command to change file permissions. Most good FTP programs, like Cute FTP or WS_FTP Pro allow you to execute a chmod. Using WS_FTP Pro, right click on remote files, select FTP Commands, CHMOD.

alphadesk
6-27-02, 12:43 PM
Here's a little chmod toy that will show you what happens when you chmod with WS_FTP. Maybe it will make it clearer for you.http://help.powweb.com/tutorials/ftp/wsftple.php

wpgwave
6-27-02, 01:28 PM
Ill givi it a try thanks for the help... "I might be back...."

wpgwave