PDA

View Full Version : Spamming from your service


kektex
9-19-02, 05:02 AM
A member of your service sent the spam below in
violation of U.S. state and international law, with fraudulent
information, to a scraped address, and possibly with a forged
header. Please act to see that such broadcasts don't originate
from this account again.

See the mail headers and tracking info at end to understand
how you give connectivity to the spammer.

If your mail server was used as an anonymous relay by the
spammer, I recommend reading
http://www.mail-abuse.org/tsi/ to learn how to turn off
anonymous mail forwarding without blocking out your
legitimate users.

Let me know if I could be of further help in resolving this
matter. All the best,

kektex


----------begin forwarded spam---------


Received: on /h/n/i/X/7/rafaelmarcano/Maildir at Wed Sep 18 22:32:09 2002
Return-Path: <contacto@rumbakaraoke.com>
Received: from rs16s5.datacenter.cha.cantv.net (rs16s5.datacenter.cha.cantv.net [200.44.32.198])
by rs14s2.datacenter.cha.cantv.net (8.10.2/8.10.2/1.0) with ESMTP id g8J2W5C00798;
Wed, 18 Sep 2002 22:32:05 -0400
Received: from mail2.powweb.com (mail1.powweb.com [63.251.213.35] (may be forged))
by rs16s5.datacenter.cha.cantv.net (8.10.2/8.10.2/2.0) with ESMTP id g8J2W3129347;
Wed, 18 Sep 2002 22:32:03 -0400
Received: from grandcentral (as1r8-209.ras.cha.cantv.net [200.44.65.208])
by mail2.powweb.com (Postfix) with ESMTP
id EBFC72301C; Wed, 18 Sep 2002 19:30:45 -0700 (PDT)
Message-ID: <002301c25f84$907e3ff0$0100a8c0@grandcentral>
From: "Rumba KARAOKE" <contacto@rumbakaraoke.com>
To: "RUMBAKARAOKEcontactos" <contacto@rumbakaraoke.com>
Subject: alquila un KARAOKE para tu fiesta!
Date: Wed, 18 Sep 2002 22:29:38 -0400
Organization: RUMBAKARAOKE
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_001E_01C25F62.DFF081F0"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000

------=_NextPart_000_001E_01C25F62.DFF081F0

CONTRATA un KARAOKE
para tu FIESTA YA!!

Llámanos al (0212) 9441502 / (0414) 3033132
Envíanos un e-mail a contacto@rumbakaraoke.com
o visita nuestra página web www.rumbakaraoke.com

Tenemos los equipos más profesionales, con una variedad de canciones (más de 7.000) incluyendo los últimos éxitos del mercado.

Nuestro servicio incluye, efectos luminosos, humo, y animador. Además de filmación de los cantantes en video VHS, y publicación de fotografias en la sección Foto Gallery de nuestro web site.


Disculpe, esta interrupción en su e-mail, pero su dirección llego a nuestra base de datos por recomendación de uno de nuestros clientes, si desea que lo borremos de nuestra base de datos, solo envienos un e-mail con el título "BORRAR" y entenderemos.
Gracias por brindarnos su atención.




-----------end forwarded spam----------

stevel
9-19-02, 10:55 AM
Doesn't look like this was a relay - the domain is hosted by PowWeb. PowWeb has a history of being hostile to spammers - but posting here may not be the best way to get their attention. I'll forward this to their abuse address.

kektex
9-19-02, 02:47 PM
I resorted to the forum since I couldnt find an abuse address for powweb.I could only find the sales address to which I sent the report.I also CCd the FTC and reported to spamcop since I havent been the only one hit by these mass mailings which are getting very annoying

stevel
9-19-02, 02:50 PM
Well, I sent to abuse@powweb.com, which seems to work. - or at least not bounce. Haven't had a response yet, though. As it happens, I'm on the phone (on hold) with PowWeb support, so I'll also bring this to their attention.

As a SpamCop user, I'm very interested in seeing spammers from PowWeb shut down, as if the PowWeb servers get on the blacklist, that blocks my e-mail too!

Edit.. I'm told that abuse@powweb.com is the proper contact, and that the person who handles that comes in "in the afternoon" (Pacific time), so it may be an hour or two (from the time of this writing) before it gets acted on, but I was assured that it would be seen and "prosecuted".

Starr
9-19-02, 03:23 PM
Umm, to send an email to abuse at Powweb just use abuse@powweb.com (tough one to guess I know ;).

stevel
9-19-02, 03:28 PM
The issue is that the PowWeb site does not list the abuse address - I would expect it to be in the Policy page linked off the main site, which includes the TOS paragraph about spamming, but it's not there. Neither is it listed at "Contact Us". It should be in both places.