Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Run my own webalizer instead of powweb's

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Run my own webalizer instead of powweb's

    Hi!

    We have been using webalizer for our sites since couple of years back and I had a cron job in our previous server space. When I saw that powweb had webalizer already installed I just turned it on, but discovered that the configuration is not as we wanted it to be, so I tried to run my own. I tried to start a cronjob where I called our webalizer by cron command (just to see that it works):

    5 * * * * /www/a/username/htdocs/statCat/webalizer

    This called the script and I got an report email which said:

    Webalizer V2.01-10 (FreeBSD 4.11-RELEASE) English
    Using logfile STDIN (clf)
    Creating output in current directory
    Hostname for reports is 'ftp07.powweb.com'
    History file not found...
    No valid records found!

    In our previous server I called a shell script file which simply did:

    cd /www/a/username/htdocs/statCat/
    ./webalizer

    I tried this also, but it just prints these two lines in the email and nothing else happens.

    So I followed the instructions at

    http://kb.powweb.com/questions/284/Using-Webalizer

    in order to see if I was doing something wrong. Howevr, nothing is updated in the statistics (I have turned off the stats from OPS) with this option either.

    Have I missed something in the process of how to get this working?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,938
    Rep Power
    16
    Looking at the KB article, I believe that cron job line is in error and the one you did use and show above is correct. But the content of the conf file should be created as described in the KB article and customized as shown.
    _________________
    (KB article has been reported for review).
    Regards - Richard

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, it doesn't work....

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    ...the struggle continues...

    The script is running, the paths are correct, the email is sent, but nothing gets updated!

    Anyone?!......

  5. #5
    on hiatus
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,815
    Rep Power
    0
    You need to show more data.

    If you have a problem, probably you made an error in setup or configuration.
    So, you need to show the way you set it up, and all configurations.
    Otherwise it's pretty hard to guess what went wrong.

    If you can't make it work, you can always use PowWeb supplied version,
    or hire someone, too.
    Last edited by extras; 10-7-05 at 02:32 PM.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!

    I sorted it. Added #!/bin/sh in the beginning of createStats and the same row to the beginning of the crontab line. Now it changes directory to my designated URL and calls my local webalizer with my own webalizer.conf which contains my own specified configuration.

    Are the log files updated (copied to the "yesterday" file) at midnight (00:00)? I want to set the crontab at a minute or so before that moment, so I guess 23:59 each day should do the trick, right?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,938
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by armenica
    Are the log files updated (copied to the "yesterday" file) at midnight (00:00)? I want to set the crontab at a minute or so before that moment, so I guess 23:59 each day should do the trick, right?
    Why don't you just use 'yesterday' s copy at some time past midnight PDT ? This would also decrease the burden on the systems that get hit with a midnight peak (eg set to one hour before you intend to start looking at the stats in the morning ).

    (PS. technically switching log files, I don't believe it is a copying operation but just a renaming thru the name cycle)

    Edited to add: midnight is of course 09:00 European time, so my comment about reading the stats 'in the morning' may need some adjustment
    Regards - Richard

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    TRUE! It should have the same result.

  9. #9
    on hiatus
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,815
    Rep Power
    0
    If the 'cd' was the only problem, it could be done like this, too.
    5 * * * * cd /www/a/username/htdocs/statCat; ./webalizer

    You can put multiple commands in a crontab separatd by semicolon ; just like shell command line.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •