Thread: Templates! Argh! Help with Infobox, plz!

Templates! Argh! Help with Infobox, plz!

I've noticed that every single thread in here is closed, so my chances of getting help are pretty slim, I guess.

I have looked up info on how to write templates for my wiki, but I still don't get it! Like a previous user (whose thread got closed without responses), I need help setting up the Infobox looking things that Wikipedia has.

My Site: http://www.teachanddiscover.net/

Threads are closed after 3 months of inactivity. You've done the right thing here by opening a new one asking for help.

I've been toying around with a wiki off and on for a couple of months. I've got the manual on my favorites in IE7 and always have it open when mucking about in the wiki.
    "You don't really understand human nature
    unless you know why a child on a merry-go-round will wave at his parents every time around
    -- and why his parents will always wave back."

-William D. Tammeus

What I would recommend is just using some of the infoboxes that have already been built on Wikipedia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Template:Infobox

That page gives the code for a really basic infobox. Just copy and paste the code into your own page or template, and then edit the parts that need to be changed. The code is simple enough that you could just change one of the text parts and see what changes.

Hopefully that gives you a direction to go in. If you need more detailed help, I could try, but its been a while now since I've used MediaWiki.

Great idea, Jediarchives. I'm even going to try that.
    "You don't really understand human nature
    unless you know why a child on a merry-go-round will wave at his parents every time around
    -- and why his parents will always wave back."

-William D. Tammeus