Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How do you add Infoboxes?

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St.Louis
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    How do you add Infoboxes?

    Hey guys,

    I just uploaded and installed MediaWiki on my server, and they seem to make things way more complicated then it should be. Can anyone here tell me step by step how to add Infoboxes. Basically I want to add what http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google has on the far right.

    Thanks,
    Corey

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    US
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    13
    See the thread titled "Templates! Argh! Help with Infobox, plz!" at the following link: http://forum.powweb.com/showthread.php?t=77684

    Hopefully that helps. If not, just post here again with a specific difficulty.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St.Louis
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Yeah, I've seen that one. It doesn't explain what to do. I'm new to MediaWiki and I'm starting to understand it more, but when I a template it just says Template:name as a link. Then I edit Temlpate:name and that says Template:name...

    I'm just wondering if anyone can explain in detail, step by step how to get Company Info on the far right like http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google.

  4. #4
    cmills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    101
    Rep Power
    15
    Most everything I have done in my Wiki I learned through trial and error. That thread that was mentioned above is mine. I didn't receive much help either, probably 'cause there's not many ppl out there working with these on their own sites.

    What exactly would you like, and I'll see if I can help...

    CMills

  5. #5
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    17
    The forums here are a great general source of information and for information specific to PowWeb functionality, but if you want information on something like Wikim you are better off finding a forums directly related to that software.

    I do that with my Joomla sites. I ask my Joomla specific questions on the Joomla boards, and if it doesn't seem like it is working right on PowWeb, Iask here.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  6. #6
    cmills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    101
    Rep Power
    15
    Unfortunately, Wiki's in general have no great form of communication. There's nothing like a message board that I could find anywhere to get some help with it. No chat, no boards, no support, only a Wiki Talk page that anyone can see and no one visits unless you're real important...

    Since I'm working on my Wiki currently, go ahead and ask me any question you'd like and I'll see what we can do together. I have Infoboxes set up on my wiki already, so I can probably help you.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St.Louis
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cmills View Post
    Unfortunately, Wiki's in general have no great form of communication. There's nothing like a message board that I could find anywhere to get some help with it. No chat, no boards, no support, only a Wiki Talk page that anyone can see and no one visits unless you're real important...

    Since I'm working on my Wiki currently, go ahead and ask me any question you'd like and I'll see what we can do together. I have Infoboxes set up on my wiki already, so I can probably help you.
    Hey,

    Basically I just want it to be like Googles or Nikes company info one.

    Google: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google
    Nike: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nike%2C_Inc.

    Thanks,
    Corey

  8. #8
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    17
    Have you checked the forum over at http://www.mwusers.com/ ? It looks like a pretty active forum.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  9. #9
    cmills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    101
    Rep Power
    15
    Okay, so, here's what I can give you.

    I'm assuming that you can write html? If you can't, then you might be up the proverbial creek without a paddle. If you can, write an html table just the way you want it to look and save it in your wiki as Template:Infobox. Instead of entering the information, you put in fillers. For instance, if you want the first line of your infobox to say what the Google one above says, then you'd have row 1 col 1 say "Type" and row 1 col 2 would have the text "{{{type}}}" in it.

    In the page you want to add the Infobox into, you type the Wiki Code that fills in the blanks. For instance, you'll type the line "type = NASDAQ". This will fill in the {{{type}}} with the word NASDAQ in the table you've placed in the Google page...

    Here are two links to similar type pages I'm using:

    http://www.teachanddiscover.net/wiki...e:Infobox_Book
    http://www.teachanddiscover.net/wiki..._To_The_Galaxy

    The first link is to my Infobox Book. Click on the "View Source" to see the table I've created. The second link takes you to a page on the HHGTTG. Click on the "View Source" to see the setup of the Infobox on the page. It starts with the "{{Infobox Book" line and ends with the "}}" tags. Keep in mind that each line of the Infobox info on the page must be preferenced with the vertical line ( | - above the backslash, above the "enter" key on the keyboard).

    I hope this helps... There's probably a Wiki way to write the Table code in the Template:Infobox page, but I find it easier to write html, and it doesn't hurt anything anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •