Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Drupal 5.x - Available updates - check failing on Powweb

  1. #1
    Just a peon, like you. eracc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    14

    Drupal 5.x - Available updates - check failing on Powweb

    I have two sub-domains running Drupal 5.x, www.eracc.com and shopping.eracc.com, that I need to keep up to date. The "Available updates" check is how this is done. For some time now, several months, I have not been able to run the Drupal 5.x "Available updates" check successfully from my Powweb domain. I either get the result "Failed to fetch available update data" on most of the modules or I get "Unable to fetch any information on available new releases and updates." This was working as designed for a long time from Powweb. I have no idea when it actually stopped working correctly from Powweb. My Drupal 5.x test server here at the SOHO is able to run these checks with no problems. However, it does not have the same modules as my Powweb "shopping" sub-domain as I use it for testing for my clients, not for myself.

    Can anyone else see if these are working with your Drupal 5.x sites? A suggestion on how to resolve this would be excellent. Thank you.
    Gene Alexander
    ERA Computers & Consulting http://www.eracc.com/ | http://shopping.eracc.com/ | http://blog.eracc.com/ | http://forum.eracc.com/
    Preloaded OSS (Linux, FreeBSD) and eComStation on PCs and Servers.

  2. #2
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    I don't know if it is related or not, but I know that I had some things break on a few of my websites that made what I call "External Calls". They basically blocked calls to other sites. Primarily I saw it in PHP Includes. What surprised me is that they even blocked it between PowWeb accounts. I have multiple accounts on PowWeb and had a universal footer I wanted on my sites on the accounts. It worked initally to just put the file on one of the domains and then use an include to pull it in. This functionality stopped quite some time ago, like over a year.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  3. #3
    Just a peon, like you. eracc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    14
    It seems to me that breaking the ability to check for updates from Powweb is a bad idea. What an excellent way to keep old code around so sites can be cracked.

    I suppose I will open a support ticket and see what support has to say about this.
    Gene Alexander
    ERA Computers & Consulting http://www.eracc.com/ | http://shopping.eracc.com/ | http://blog.eracc.com/ | http://forum.eracc.com/
    Preloaded OSS (Linux, FreeBSD) and eComStation on PCs and Servers.

  4. #4
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    Like I say, may not be related.

    I do understand the supposed reasoning. Hackers like to drop in small pieces of code that then reach out to other websites to execute. If you turn off that functionality you block those types of hacks. Not saying I agree with it, just saying I see the reasoning.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  5. #5
    Just a peon, like you. eracc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    14
    Ticket submitted with support. I'll report here when I either have a resolution or a no-go due to more bad Powweb policy changes.
    Gene Alexander
    ERA Computers & Consulting http://www.eracc.com/ | http://shopping.eracc.com/ | http://blog.eracc.com/ | http://forum.eracc.com/
    Preloaded OSS (Linux, FreeBSD) and eComStation on PCs and Servers.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    I and my collegues have the same issue. We had advised a number of our customers to use PowWeb for Drupal. And now, they see "Updates could not be fetched" in the updates list, which results in having a red error message show for them as they log in telling them the core and modules may be outdated. Clients become nervous - and we end up being nervous. Do you guys realize that what you did renders your hosting services non-supportive for Drupal? And you made that change without even warning us. We are spending time trying to figure out what went wrong with Drupal telling out clients "Hey guys we are looking for the solution" - when in reality you just blocked the normal functionality of that feature.

  7. #7
    Just a peon, like you. eracc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    14
    Well, I did the dance with PowWeb support, gave them a temporary admin account and was told the following on 06/23/2010:

    I did login and I see the error that you are talking about "unable to fetch update" although it shows that the core of the application is updated the modules and the applications where the problem occurs. As I refreshed it would show different applications or modules that they are up to date. For this problem you will have to research it with Drupal to find out what is causing these repositories unreachable to check for the updates. The application itself is working fine on the server without any restrictions the problem/bug is with the updater. I highly suggest researching this problem on Drupal forums and see how other users corrected this issue.

    If you have further questions or concerns please let me know.

    Basically, he is saying the problem is with Drupal's update service and not with PowWeb. He totally ignored the fact that these update checks work perfectly from my test server in my office. I have not yet reopened the ticket as I needed to get on with my life and get other work done. When I have more "free time" to look at this I will reopen my ticket with PowWeb.
    Gene Alexander
    ERA Computers & Consulting http://www.eracc.com/ | http://shopping.eracc.com/ | http://blog.eracc.com/ | http://forum.eracc.com/
    Preloaded OSS (Linux, FreeBSD) and eComStation on PCs and Servers.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Interesting. I was also requested an admin access. People have to decide whether they support Drupal or not. I expect that they take it to the upper levels and they decide whether to say "Nay its Drupal not our business" - than they will lose the Drupal part of the hosting clients.

    So I expect that they will eventually adjust for Drupal support, and in the light of this their answers of "Oh it's Drupal" don't look adequate. An adequate answer would be "Drupal has changed and now conflicts with out hosting setup. We will see what can be done on our servers to rectify the issue and notify you asap." That is what expected.

  9. #9
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    I don't think this is an issue of "Oh it's Drupal" as much as it is "The hosting is working, people can access the website, this is a not OUR software."

    For the most part PowWeb is a budget host and you get what you pay for. After they had several websites hacked and services down for a while because of various DoS attacks they locked everything down. We got this insane password standard and all kinds of remote connection options shut down.

    They deal with volume and own a lot of the market under various names. If you pack up your site and take it someplace else, there is a good chance the parent company still gets your money.

    There is an advance support that you can pay for, but chances are they are going to tell you that the system is working as they have configured it.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Have same problem on my Drupal 6 sites located on Powweb host. Everything works pretty well but to be unable to see updates is really strange and inconvenient thing.... It's very powerful feature of Drupal 6 to keep site updated and it means secured..

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    True. The final response that I got it this:

    "We do not support 3rd party applications or their features beyond their installation via Install Central. Once our engineers have tested future updates to ensure they are both stable and secure, we will make then available in Install Central. "
    I did not understand it frankly - are they hosting a mirror of an update site? Does their answer mean that unless we install Drupal through their service, it won't work properly now? What do I make of it?

  12. #12
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    No, it means what it says - their support of individual packages such as Drupal is limited to the versions on Install Central, and any updates provided on Install Central. This support is limited to faults caused by the Install Central installation software.

    You will find, if you look, that many of the Install Centrall packages are well out date and don't have the 'latest' updates and patches. Even when IC is updated, it's not usually to the current version/update/latest patch.
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

  13. #13
    Just a peon, like you. eracc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by IanS View Post
    [...]
    You will find, if you look, that many of the Install Centrall packages are well out date and don't have the 'latest' updates and patches. Even when IC is updated, it's not usually to the current version/update/latest patch.
    ... and this is why sites will be cracked. Every Drupal update I have applied has been to fix a security flaw. That is why these update checks being allowed FROM PowWeb are so important. I understand PowWeb is attempting to keep cracks from happening. But disallowing Drupal to check for updates is not the answer. I also know that PowWeb is a "cheap shared host". is not going to care about my concerns and that I have to find a way to work around PowWeb's flawed policy.

    Need I say, "I will not be referring any more of my clients to PowWeb."? Not that PowWeb will care about that either ...
    Gene Alexander
    ERA Computers & Consulting http://www.eracc.com/ | http://shopping.eracc.com/ | http://blog.eracc.com/ | http://forum.eracc.com/
    Preloaded OSS (Linux, FreeBSD) and eComStation on PCs and Servers.

  14. #14
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by eracc View Post
    ... and this is why sites will be cracked. Every Drupal update I have applied has been to fix a security flaw. That is why these update checks being allowed FROM PowWeb are so important. I understand PowWeb is attempting to keep cracks from happening. But disallowing Drupal to check for updates is not the answer. ...
    I couldn't agree with you more!

    It's all been said here before (not necessarily about Drupal, but about updates and Install Central).
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    I and my colleagues in other companies who have been using PowWeb for Drupal are looking for other hosting solutions. Tell me if you find something less radical. have anybody tried competitor names removed What gives?
    Last edited by snowmaker; 7-7-10 at 01:06 PM. Reason: competitor names removed per forum policy

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0
    Drupal is just generally problematic on powweb—it's as if there are some unpublished limits somewhere that drupal seems to tickle the wrong way.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    174
    Rep Power
    9
    I think its the php script timeout basically kills the update or fsockopen() is timing out. I checked some other application and fsockopen() functionality all seems to be good. So something is preventing/timingout between powweb and drupal. You may wait till powwebs upgrade through Install Central.

  18. #18
    Just a peon, like you. eracc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    180
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by shrupa View Post
    ... You may wait till powwebs upgrade through Install Central.
    Waiting is not an option. Unfortunately, by the time PowWeb updates Install Central the releases of Drupal and modules for same will be cracked by some jerks "out there". Likely meaning my and my client's sites will already be "pwned". When it comes to internet facing web sites, waiting to update with security patches is a Bad Idea.
    Gene Alexander
    ERA Computers & Consulting http://www.eracc.com/ | http://shopping.eracc.com/ | http://blog.eracc.com/ | http://forum.eracc.com/
    Preloaded OSS (Linux, FreeBSD) and eComStation on PCs and Servers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •