Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HDMI Headphones

  1. #1
    Kermit911's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    507
    Rep Power
    13

    Question HDMI Headphones

    Hello, I have a question. I hound these really cool headphones.

    http://store.razerzone.com/store/raz...ctID.169420200

    My question is, I would like to use surround sound headphones on my laptop, but my laptop only has 2 headphone out jacks in the side. I have a Studio 17 Laptop.

    I have been looking on Google to no e vale for maybe a pair of HDMI Surround sound headphones, or a converter from HDMI to headphone jacks (left, right, bass, etc...)

    Any idea guys?

    Thanks
    Dave
    How do you keep a programmer in the shower all day?
    Give him a bottle of shampoo which says "lather, rinse, repeat."

  2. #2
    YvetteKuhns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Allentown, PA USA
    Posts
    15,244
    Rep Power
    34
    I have a USB headset with headphones and the microphone. I can choose the setting for simply headphones and I can use it to record my voice or listen to music. I originally bought it for Skype. If you choose something with USB you should be okay.
    Yvette Kuhns
    Power Pages Web Design
    Customized Internet Advertising Solutions

  3. #3
    Custom User Title tpoynton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    2,177
    Rep Power
    17
    I was looking for an hdmi converter for my TV, since my TV doesnt have it...what I learned is that you lose the benefits of hdmi with a converter - if the converter actually exists.

  4. #4
    YvetteKuhns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Allentown, PA USA
    Posts
    15,244
    Rep Power
    34
    I haven't tried my hdmi connection yet for my video camera to my computer to see if the quality remains the same. I could ask one of my friends who uses this equipment to see what he uses.
    Yvette Kuhns
    Power Pages Web Design
    Customized Internet Advertising Solutions

  5. #5
    Autoload's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    USA - New Jersey
    Posts
    563
    Rep Power
    16
    Don't these headphones use a USB port? Plug the headphones in the USB port and then select the headphones as the default sound device. What am I missing?
    Autoload
    WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot, Over?

  6. #6
    YvetteKuhns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Allentown, PA USA
    Posts
    15,244
    Rep Power
    34
    Don't these headphones use a USB port? Plug the headphones in the USB port and then select the headphones as the default sound device. What am I missing?
    Hey, I was thinking the same thing. It works for me.
    Yvette Kuhns
    Power Pages Web Design
    Customized Internet Advertising Solutions

  7. #7
    Kermit911's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    507
    Rep Power
    13
    LOL you are correct, that is the wrong link I put up there. :-)

    http://store.razerzone.com/store/raz...ctID.169415500

    Here is a link to an E-Bay page where you can see the connectors:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Razer-Barracuda-...item19c07132d9

    Sorry for the confusion :-)
    How do you keep a programmer in the shower all day?
    Give him a bottle of shampoo which says "lather, rinse, repeat."

  8. #8
    YvetteKuhns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Allentown, PA USA
    Posts
    15,244
    Rep Power
    34
    Did you ask the seller what is included?

    The seller said:
    This is powered by a USB socket if you are not using an AC-1 soundcard. Also has a detachable mic boom so if you're not into chatting you don't have to have an annoying mic boom in your face all the time - a great touch!
    The seller could probably answer more questions based on testing or experience. I don't have that style headset.
    Yvette Kuhns
    Power Pages Web Design
    Customized Internet Advertising Solutions

  9. #9
    satis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    2,914
    Rep Power
    20
    HDMI is a heavily locked-down connection for digital audio and video. If you got a pair of headphones that actually used HDMI, they'd have to be able to decode the bitstream, and the manufacturer would have to pay the HDMI-tax. I hate HDMI. I use it due to a lack of options, but all the BS that got stuffed in to it to "stop piracy" is just a massive inconvenience.

    You know what happens if you have a home theater PC connected to your TV via HDMI and you switch inputs to something else, then back? There's a decent chance that the HDMI handshake fails, so you get no signal. The only way to fix it... reboot the computer. Not that there's anything WRONG, per se, just that HDMI sucks.

    Err, rant aside, I don't think there's such a monster, and I'm willing to bet that even if you find one, you'll end up with more headaches than it's worth. My recommendation, like everyone else I think, is to go with USB.

    BTW, I eyed some Razer headphones myself. They sexy. And who can beat 7.1 freakin' headphones!? I ended up reading about a lot of problems with Windows 7 drivers, though, so I went with something else. I was really tempted by the Megalodon. This one is USB, if you can afford the entry price.

    http://store.razerzone.com/store/raz...oryID.35096300

  10. #10
    Kermit911's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    507
    Rep Power
    13
    USB seems to be the way to go. Thanks everyone for your help.

    Dave
    How do you keep a programmer in the shower all day?
    Give him a bottle of shampoo which says "lather, rinse, repeat."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •