Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: YaBB forum working for years, now down!

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    YaBB forum working for years, now down!

    Hi,

    I had a YaBB2 forun working for years, and it suddenly has started to show ah weird behaviour, making it unusable.

    http://www.amctools.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl

    This problem seems not to be new.... Some users have reported the same issue in the past, and the solution seems to be related to the .htaccess file, conflicting with the new Apache upgrade.

    However, I haven't been able to find a specific solution about what in the .htaccess is causing the trouble.

    Anyone can help me?

  2. #2
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    What is the issue? What weird behavior? When I click on the link it just goes to the forum saying it is in maintenance mode.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  3. #3
    YvetteKuhns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Allentown, PA USA
    Posts
    15,244
    Rep Power
    34
    entrecon, it does say maintenance mode at the top but it also mentions an error at the bottom of the page.

    OK

    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

    Please contact the server administrator, cgiadmin@yourhostingaccount.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

    More information about this error may be available in the server error log.
    I was more interested in this part:
    12/27/10 at 17:31:28
    News: We've upgraded to YaBB 2!
    Someone was trying to upgrade when I looked.
    Yvette Kuhns
    Power Pages Web Design
    Customized Internet Advertising Solutions

  4. #4
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    Odd, I am not seeing that from here, but then I am at a site where different things get blocked.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, I have put the forum maintenance, since it is unusable now...

    Behaviour is not repetitive: it depends on the browser, reload times, etc... But mainly the page remains unload, and in the best case, it shows an error at the end as mentioned by YvetteKuhns.

    Nothing has been touched since months, having worked perfectlyl

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, I have disabled the RSS feed, and it has improved a bit. LIke this, it is only the final message who shows up...

  7. #7
    YvetteKuhns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Allentown, PA USA
    Posts
    15,244
    Rep Power
    34
    At this time, the header loaded but the rest of the page did not. Whatever should load next (database data or remotely hosted content) could be causing problems. Did you have a backup of the website made prior to today's date? You may be able to restore the backup if you contact support.
    Yvette Kuhns
    Power Pages Web Design
    Customized Internet Advertising Solutions

  8. #8
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    I wonder if this is a temp directory issue. Check the php.ini settings.
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, I have placed a support ticket on this...

    The Powweb staff recognizes the problem of giving such abnormal error message in certain scripts. According to the ticket answer they are working on it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •