Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dreamweaver FTP issue

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kamloops BC
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Dreamweaver FTP issue

    I am using Dreamweaver CS4, when I put a new file via FTP the file shows up in the correct directory but with o bytes. If I update an existing file it will delete the content of the existing file but the file remains (tittle anyway) in the directory? It was working before and I haven't knowingly changed anything. Anyone have any idea what may be going on.
    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    174
    Rep Power
    9
    It seems that your FTP connection is getting disconnected. Test with any FTP client just to make sure that FTP for your account is fine.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kamloops BC
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks but I don't think that is it. If I put an image it all works fine. Also no problem getting the files from the site.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kamloops BC
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    I also uploaded some large pdf files and no time out issues. Everything uploads except my code (which is a fairly important part).

  5. #5
    Custom User Title entrecon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,742
    Rep Power
    16
    What file extension are you using? Can you upload it if you change the extension and then rename with correct extension once it is uploaded?
    ________________________________
    Find me on twitter: @entrecon

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kamloops BC
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    .html, I tried a few changes and same result.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kamloops BC
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by entrecon View Post
    What file extension are you using? Can you upload it if you change the extension and then rename with correct extension once it is uploaded?
    Just to make it more confusing, I have two computers in this house running the same version of Dreamweaver, same FTP settings. The other computer works fine, only difference is OS, works on the vista computer not windows 7 computer. ????

  8. #8
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    That suggests a local issue with the uploading - have you checked that your security software on the W7 version allows DW to access the net and access FTP?
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kamloops BC
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the reply I have solved it for now, set to passive mode and it now appears to work with the html files as well as jpg and pdf.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •