Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Vista won't update

  1. #1
    Seawitchartist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    222
    Rep Power
    11

    Vista won't update

    This past few weeks my Vista has been stubbornly refusing to accept 18 windows updates, it simply tries to upload and configure every time I switch the computer on, it won't configure so off loads before allowing me to log on, it's getting tedious. I've taken off AVG and tried, disabled Windows Defender and tried, but nothing.
    Never trust statistics unless you fiddled the figures yourself!

    www.seawitchartist.com

  2. #2
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    Have you tried rolling back to the point before this problem started and manually picking which updates to install?
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

  3. #3
    Seawitchartist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    222
    Rep Power
    11
    Ian..'rolling back'...you mean make a restore point? I can only get it to go back a couple of days, the more obvious system I'm used to in XP isn't there. Also, how to do these things manually?
    Never trust statistics unless you fiddled the figures yourself!

    www.seawitchartist.com

  4. #4
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    Yes, I intended the use of 'restore point'. However the intention would be to move back to one rather than make one.

    CCleaner has the facility to access the restore points. I don't have a Vista system look at but my recollection is that Windows XP and Vista weren't that different in the restore point methods.

    Check out ccleaner.com however as that is using the Windows system restore markers anyway.

    As for manually picking the updates to install - in order to see which ones are causing the issue - you do that under windows update, from either the control panel or IE. Where in IE changes between versions.
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

  5. #5
    Seawitchartist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    222
    Rep Power
    11
    Thanks for all this Ian, it led me to the problem. Strange but one of the two updates jamming things was a patch (?) for IE8, not on the computer, and the other was to load EI9 which was already on, I hid those and things configured at last.
    Never trust statistics unless you fiddled the figures yourself!

    www.seawitchartist.com

  6. #6
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    I'm glad you got it sorted. Happy to help
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •