Thread: Help with renaming inital username in Mysql

Question Help with renaming inital username in Mysql

I set up Mysql actually a few years ago but never used it. In Manage Databases, I have the original username and password in the right pane and one named database in the left pane.

I was worried that the 4 letter username and the 8 character password is not secure enough so I tried to change it but it won't let me change or delete the username. I get a pink pop up that says "Your MySQL database must have at least one login associated with it."

I'm still very new to how databases work so I don't know how to do this without messing something up.

Is it something that Support should do for me or can I simply "Add New User" and then delete the original and give all the privileges to the "new user"? Will it then let me delete the original user?

Thanks for any help on this.

Quote Originally Posted by barbara View Post
    ..or can I simply "Add New User" and then delete the original and give all the privileges to the "new user"? Will it then let me delete the original user?

Thanks for any help on this.
    That's what I would do. In fact, I think I did have to do that exact thing once, many moons ago..

Let us us know if it works that way or not!
    -bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
    'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

Thanks for the reply

Is there any restrictions on characters, numbers etc for passwords and usernames for Mysql?

Well this link - PowWeb Knowledgebase - How To: Account password may help, as far as format and such.. but the times I've had to create/change a password, I just keep 'modifying' the attempted password (based on the error returned, which displays the right 'format') until it's accepted. Of course, it would be easier to just put a password of the correct format in, but I usually forget to plan ahead in situations like that..