Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MS Front Page border wide screen resolutions

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    MS Front Page border wide screen resolutions

    I've resisted fixed page sizes for years but the wide range of screen resolutions has made me reconsider. I notice that most sites in my industry (fundraising) are set to 1024x768. 800x600 requires a left/right toggle. For larger resolutions, most sites have a color or patterned border to the left and right. Sounded easy to me. I selected a background image for my home page and referenced all other pages to it. THE PROBLEM: The border works perfectly on all pages except the home page. No matter what I try, the border is fine on subordinate pages but the space to the right and left of the home page is white. I am sure this is a simple issue that I just can't see. Can anyone help? Thanks!

    PS ... before anyone says I need to upgrade web reprograms. I know it but I will probably retire (again) in the next year or so and just don't want to fight the learning curve. (We senior citizens don't learn as quick as we used to.
    Last edited by usr102; 8-21-13 at 06:02 PM. Reason: mispelling

  2. #2
    Thinkin' out loud again Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,088
    Rep Power
    20
    It has nothing to do with the border. I'm guessing the background image on your home page is 1024 wide or close to it. Your page will never be any narrower with that image setting the width. You have a couple of choices. Replace the image with a smaller image that can be "repeated" relatively elegantly, or get rid of a background image altogether (that would be my choice).

    Full disclosure, I know nothing about FrontPage. Never used it. Therefore I can't tell you how to do the things I suggested in the previous paragraph.

    Good luck,
    Kevin
    A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...
    but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying,
    "Damn... that was fun!"

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Thanks Kevin ...

    I suspect that I am inarticulate in explaining my problem ... of course you would expect that since I am still using MS FP. I don't have an image on my home page, per se. You have an option on FP to let you select a background image which you can let show through ... or ... you can just let it show outside the borders of your page on wide resolutions. The page below is an example.

    http://www.dmifundraising.com/

    I work with a resolution of 1440x900. When viewing that page, I see a beige background image with sports equipment on either side of the actual page. That is what I am trying for. Since my draft home page is the same width ...985 pixels ... as my other pages, it mystifies me that the background image is displayed perfectly on all pages except my home page.

    I suspect this is a peculiarity of Front Page.

    My site is not hosted here. The site above is not mine... it is what I want mine to do. Sorry for any breach of protocol. I am updating my site offline ... the fixed width version has not been published.
    Last edited by usr102; 8-21-13 at 08:19 PM. Reason: hosting comment

  4. #4
    target='_blank' snowmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    3,458
    Rep Power
    22
    usr102 - You should state that your site is not hosted here if it's not, and don't name the host. Please note, that while FP is FP, this host (Powweb) may have a different setup for it than your host does, so any suggestions that you get here may not apply or work for your problem.

    I am not going to delete your posts here, or the link to your site, since you are apparently not what I call a 'profile spammer'. You appear to be here to get some help to resolve this issue, so, with that said, good luck!
    -bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
    'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Done. Definitely not spamming this. Just need a patch to get through the next year or so.

  6. #6
    Thinkin' out loud again Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,088
    Rep Power
    20
    Aah, I think I see what's going on. It's somewhat related to my previous comment. There's 2 pics/images side-by-side just under your nav bar. They are forcing the <div> they are in to remain at a fixed width. Specifically, this code:
    HTML Code:
       <div id="homepage_top">
        	<!-- TESTIMONIALS BOX -->
        	<div class="testimonials"><div class="text"><p>&ldquo;I enjoy working with DMI. As a sponsor I have less to do and my group receives a large profit!&rdquo;</p>
            <p>Courtney M.<br />Parent Volunteer</p>
            <a href="/DMI-Fundraising-Company-Reviews-p/sitereview.htm">(Click here to read more testimonials!)</a></div></div>
            
            <!-- BULLETIN BOARD -->
            <div class="bulletin">
            <h3>Full Service Fundraising</h3>
            <h5>Free tally, sort, student pack &amp; <em>delivery</em></h5>
            <span class="catalog"><img src="/v/vspfiles/photos/b-fall-fundraising-catalog-2-1.jpg" /><a href="/category-s/1821.htm">Gift & Wrap Catalog >></a></span>
            <span class="catalog"><img src="/v/vspfiles/templates/dmifundraising/images/homepage/catalog02.jpg" /><a href="/category-s/1821.htm">Gourmet Food Catalog >></a></span>
            </div>
            
            <div class="clearLeft"></div>
            
            <!-- THREE SMALL PROMOS -->
            <div class="smallpromos">
            <div class="promo promo01"><a href="/category-s/1845.htm">Free Delivery</a></div>
            <div class="promo promo02"><p><strong>Ready to start a sale?</strong> Begin here&hellip; <a href="/article-a/250.htm"><img src="/v/vspfiles/templates/dmifundraising/images/homepage/btn_yes.gif" alt="Yes" /></a></p></div>
            <div class="promo promo03"><a href="/category-s/1844.htm">No Minimum</a></div>
            <div class="clearLeft"></div>
            </div>
        </div>
    It's the "testimonials box" and "bulletin board" divs that are forcing the containing div ("homepage_top") to remain a fixed width.

    Kevin
    A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...
    but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying,
    "Damn... that was fun!"

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Thanks ... again!

    Hi Kevin,

    That was not my site ... BUT ... looking at your comments, I was able to extrapolate to my situation. Many thanks!

    BTW, I found this board after doing a search for MS Front Page forums. I didn't realize this was a hosting company site and not a general forum. I apologize!

  8. #8
    Thinkin' out loud again Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,088
    Rep Power
    20
    Interesting. I clicked the link you gave, did a "view source" and that's what was there. Maybe some of it is being pulled from includes though. If so, you wouldn't see it in your local code. Anyway, all's well that ends well! Glad the problem is solved. Welcome to the forum, even if your site isn't hosted here.

    Kevin
    A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...
    but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying,
    "Damn... that was fun!"

  9. #9
    target='_blank' snowmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    3,458
    Rep Power
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by usr102 View Post
    That was not my site ... BUT ...

    BTW, I found this board after doing a search for MS Front Page forums. I didn't realize this was a hosting company site and not a general forum. I apologize!
    I'm happy that Kevin (Builder) was able to supply some good comments to help you resolve your problem. On another note ( it's Thursday, tonight's music night for me ), while this is a particular hosting company's forum, member's here will gladly offer help to anyone. A rule of this forum however is that one states their site is not hosted here if it's not. So replace that dunce cap with a very slight facepalm and have a great day!
    -bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
    'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •