Thread: jquery novice questions

jquery novice questions

Hi,

I have zero experience with jquery, but lots of experience with web design.

I created a menu system for my powweb hosted site using pure html and css. I want to revamp and modernize the menus and thought now would be a good time to learn jquery. I like learning new stuff, and also because it seems every job description I look at wants jquery experience.

Would navigation and menus be a good or bad place to start learning jquery?

Can someone out there that has experience with jquery point me in the right direction, like jquery step #1.

Any tools available on powweb.com to help me with jquery basics?

Thanks.

Thinkin' out loud again Builder's Avatar
    Kinda in the same boat as you. There's a lesson on jquery at w3schools. Haven't gone through it yet. I have begun using jquery on a couple of sites. Mostly prepackaged "photo gallery" scripts. That stuff is pretty easy to deal with for the most part. Call the appropriate jquery library/libraries, plop in the variables via a small config script and you're good to go. Perhaps you can find something similar for navigation that will allow you to do some "hacking" and learning along the way. As far as I know there's nothing on powweb.com having to do with jquery.

Good luck,
    Kevin
    A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...
    but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying,
    "Damn... that was fun!"

Smile

Thanks Kevin,

I found this jquery navigation that I thought might be a good place to start:

http://tympanus.net/Tutorials/FixedNavigationTutorial/

the tutorial is here: http://tympanus.net/codrops/2009/11/...uery-tutorial/

The html and css are very similar to what I have on my site already. What I have not done is the javascript and jquery, which animates the menu.

This menu has one short javascript function which I have pasted below.