Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Frontpage Question

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Vegas Baby
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Frontpage Question

    I might be the only Frontpage user left in America, I have a site that I built in Frontpage 15 years ago, I am not a web-designer, I am frontpage for dummies designer.

    Here goes my question, and I can't believe it took me 15 years to ask it.

    How can you update a frontpage site from two different computers? If I make a change from the local computer to the web, it doesn't change the local on the other comptuer, I am sure there is a way for two people from two different comptuers to work on a front-page site.

    Anybody want to enlighten this 15 year newbie?

    Thanks
    Sportsbettor

  2. #2
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    The way I did it in the past is to download the existing web to the computer you're working on then update files, then upload them.

    May not be the best, but it worked. I didn't rely on any computer I was working on having the up-to-date version.
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Vegas Baby
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    If you don't mind would you give me the process for downloading the site down to the local computer?
    Thanks for your hlep

    Also the site is over 200 webpages, is it still practical to download it to the local everyday before
    making the updates.

  4. #4
    target='_blank' snowmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    3,458
    Rep Power
    22
    The only process I could recommend for downloading 2 or 200 pages to a local computer involves using a FTP program. I don't know if you're familiar with or comfortable using a program like that, but I am not familiar with or want to be familiar with FrontPage and it's file structure.

    There is an option in your browser's file menu. It's called 'Save Page As' or something similar depending on what browser you use. That will probably do as you want, but with 200 pages, it could take a while!
    Last edited by snowmaker; 8-10-14 at 03:10 AM.
    -bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
    'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

  5. #5
    Former Spam Filter (EU) IanS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Washington (THE original UK one!)
    Posts
    12,964
    Rep Power
    30
    I can't give the exact details as I no longer have FrontPage installed on any computer I have access to. There is feature of FrontPage that allows you to copy a site - somewhere in one of the menus.

    You only need to download the entire site if you know the pages weren't updated from your current computer. So 2 - 2000 makes little difference if you're on the same one as yesterday, only if you move from computer to computer.

    This looks about the right procedure
    This is a Powweb customer
    helping Powweb customer forum.

    I am a customer just like you!!

    Some matters can only be answered by staff or support.
    Give it a go - ask here first!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •