Thread: Venting about FP vs. EW

Registered

Cool Venting about FP vs. EW

I'd just like to take a minute here to VENT!!!

I've had websites since the 90's when I first learned simple HTML. I started using Frontpage because it's really easy to use (WYSIWYG) and because it's very useful for many things, especially the server extensions. I have several large sites and so if I move or rename a page or image in my site, FPSE automatically changes all the links to it. There are several other features I like as well. I've been using FP 2003 for 13 years!

I know that many people hate FP and that it puts extra crap in your html and other geeky reasons that I don't care about. For me, it's totally worth using, and since I have a large page and can use FP to log in live and make changes, it's invaluable. I have several others who work on my site, too, so it's great that we don't have to use FTP or publish, we can just edit the site live.

OK, but the problem is, since they don't support it any more or make new versions, it's harder and harder to use with the newer versions of Windows. I had Windows XP for a very long time (until 2014), and FP mostly worked great with it (crashed more often than I'd like). I finally had to buy a new computer and update to Windows 8 and now 10. I have no problems with Windows, but due to their changes and improvements, there are quite a few things in FP that no longer work on my laptop! I can't login to the server administration because that uses Internet Explorer, and the newer browser no longer is recognized by Frontpage as IE, so it just won't work.

I can't link directly to images any more. I have to find the image, copy it, then paste it into the page. I think I read this has something to do with 32 bit versus 64 bit.

It crashes even more now.

I started using Expression Web last year to edit my site because of these things. EW still uses a lot of the FPSE that I like. However, I really hate EW for many reasons.