Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Main web page does not load the first time

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    at home
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    15

    Main web page does not load the first time

    Hi everyone,

    Is anyone else having problems with their main web page (index.shtml) loading the FIRST time you attempt to load it?

    The first attempt to load my web site..... www.smcelectronics.com
    will fail and display...

    "This page canít be displayed
    Make sure the web address http://smcelectronics.com is correct"

    This has been happening now for 3 days.

    Usually a refresh will indeed finally load the page but the page load problem will appear again if you try to refresh the page or open a new session of your web browser. It also happens if you open the website using another computer (on the same network).

    Because my main page is a .shtml type, I believe it must be processed by Poweb's cgi server. Over the years, there have been problems with their cgi servers on a temporally basis.\

    Just wondering if they are having problems again with their servers.

    Steve Carlozzi

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cairns - Australia
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    16

    Exactly the Same !!

    Hi Steve
    And my site is doing EXACTLY THE SAME AS YOU DESCRIBE IN YOUR POST ... EXACTLY !!
    As you wrote, the refresh works but it shouldn't have to be, eh ??
    Geoff
    Geoff Roneberg
    Living in the fabulous tropics in North Queensland - Australia
    Site #1 - http://www.ronebergcairns.com/
    Site #2 - http://www.ronebergcairnscontinued.com/

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    at home
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by geosha View Post
    Hi Steve
    And my site is doing EXACTLY THE SAME AS YOU DESCRIBE IN YOUR POST ... EXACTLY !!
    As you wrote, the refresh works but it shouldn't have to be, eh ??
    Geoff
    Hi Geoff,

    Thanks for confirming. If I remember right, the poweb cgi server causes this problem. If your web domain, in my case, www.smcelectronics.com, points to an index.shtml page, problems occur,
    if you web domain points to a page ending in *.html no problem.

    So now the wait to see when it will repaired. Looking at the "Service outages" on this forum, it doesn't look like it gets updated much.

    Hopefully tomorrow, I will chat with their tech support, of course they will probably say that THEY have no problem on their side, that it is caused by me somehow. At least now I can say that I am not the only one having this problem.

    Thanks again for confirming.

  4. #4
    target='_blank' snowmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not in Solomons anymore.
    Posts
    3,434
    Rep Power
    21
    You guys could go into OPS, disable CGI, then re-enable it. See if that makes a difference.

    pre-post-edit: I just went into OPS, and it seems you can't do that anymore. I think it's done for you automatically when an account is created. You all will probably have to open support tickets. Make sure to reference this thread - http://forum.powweb.com/showthread.php?t=97572, to help with the issue.
    -bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
    'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

  5. #5
    Thinkin' out loud again Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,088
    Rep Power
    19
    I'll throw in a "me too". Noticed this behavior yesterday when updating some pages. At times they would "self-reload", for lack of a better term. Other times I had to manually reload. The pages that would "self-reload" are *.shtml; the ones needing manual reloading are *.php. It seems that, possibly, server side processes are getting delayed at least, and sometimes failing on first load.
    A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...
    but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying,
    "Damn... that was fun!"

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cairns - Australia
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    16

    Page Loading

    Hey to you all
    I am "not computer smart enough" to be much help with this !!
    .
    I have just tried my page and it did not load without a refresh
    It is an "index.html"
    I have also noticed what 'builder' mentioned in his post ... over the past few days, this page does sometimes self-reload
    .
    As I said, not much help towards a solution !!
    Geoff
    Geoff Roneberg
    Living in the fabulous tropics in North Queensland - Australia
    Site #1 - http://www.ronebergcairns.com/
    Site #2 - http://www.ronebergcairnscontinued.com/

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    at home
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    15
    Hi Geoff,

    It is INDEED a help to the solution. The more people confirming the problem, the more Poweb will consider it a problem on their side and not ours.

    Thanks for confirming.

    Steve

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cairns - Australia
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    16

    More Information

    A bit more information from here in Australia ... might be useful ??

    My desktop computer runs both Windows XP and Google Chrome
    My wife's laptop has Windows 7

    This "non-loading problem" occurs with all three browsers

    Bye
    Geoff Roneberg
    Living in the fabulous tropics in North Queensland - Australia
    Site #1 - http://www.ronebergcairns.com/
    Site #2 - http://www.ronebergcairnscontinued.com/

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    at home
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    15
    Update: finally got a ticket open for this problem.
    Hopefully it will be fixed soon, if not I will post again.

    Steve

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cairns - Australia
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    16

    Thanks

    Thanks from me for doing this
    ( and yes, it is still doing the same thing )
    .
    Will be a Beer waiting for you here in Cairns !!
    Geoff
    Geoff Roneberg
    Living in the fabulous tropics in North Queensland - Australia
    Site #1 - http://www.ronebergcairns.com/
    Site #2 - http://www.ronebergcairnscontinued.com/

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0
    Just adding a "me too" post...

  12. #12
    Thinkin' out loud again Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,088
    Rep Power
    19
    This issue seems to be fixed, at least for my site. No more automatic or manual reloads to get pages to render. Hope everyone else who posted is experiencing the same.

    Kevin
    A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...
    but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying,
    "Damn... that was fun!"

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cairns - Australia
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    16

    Fixed ?? ... Maybe !!

    Cairns - Qld - Australia - 6.00am - Tuesday
    As per "builders" note above
    YES ... my site is also now loading "first time" !!
    Will keep an eye on it over the next few days
    Thanks everyone
    ***
    Hey "smcone" ... you started this post ... how is your site now ??
    Geoff
    Geoff Roneberg
    Living in the fabulous tropics in North Queensland - Australia
    Site #1 - http://www.ronebergcairns.com/
    Site #2 - http://www.ronebergcairnscontinued.com/

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cairns - Australia
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    16

    Perfect !!

    A few days have passed since my note above
    ALL IS WORKING / DISPLAYING PERFECTLY !!
    Thanks and Regards
    Geoff
    Geoff Roneberg
    Living in the fabulous tropics in North Queensland - Australia
    Site #1 - http://www.ronebergcairns.com/
    Site #2 - http://www.ronebergcairnscontinued.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •