PowWeb Forums - The Perfect Community for the Perfect Host  

Register now to interact with over 11,000 members! Registered users have Posting Privileges, free access to Private Messaging, Email Notifications and more.

Go Back   PowWeb Community Forums > The PowWeb Platform > General Issues / Questions
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4-18-12, 08:27 PM   #1
rfrick
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 326
Reputation: 32
Upside down webpage!

I have a Perl program that takes uploaded information and produces a webpage. Yesterday, a webpage ended up upside down!

Here is the link: http://110bridge.com/gr/012041787729c1.htm

I would suspect a once-in-a-million fluke except the same thing happened last week. If you look at the source code, it is like ǝɹoɔs ʇןnsǝɹ sʌ ןnʌ ɹןp pɹq That's presumably the code for upside down letters.

My program has been running daily for like 10 years without seeing this problem or anything remotely like it. If you think of the effort it would take to do that intentionally, it really can't be a bug. Even if something converted every symbol to that code, you still would have the symbols in the forward order -- it also had to reverse the order of the symbols.

I guess it is a practical joke by some hacker. If so, I like it. But it will get tiring if it happens again.

Bob
rfrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-20-12, 02:42 PM   #2
entrecon
Custom User Title
 
entrecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,722
Reputation: 337
Not knowing anything about it, is there any chance that there is something on the input that would trigger it?
__________________
________________________________
Find me on twitter: @entrecon
entrecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-21-12, 03:35 PM   #3
rfrick
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 326
Reputation: 32
The input is text, i think. From a standard source, so there can't be any clever tricks in it. It's from a program and I have been using the same program for input for the last 10 years (with updates)

So pretty impossible to be the input.
rfrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-23-12, 12:06 PM   #4
entrecon
Custom User Title
 
entrecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,722
Reputation: 337
I guess I wasn't thinking tricks as much as an accident. Depending on how the values are being read in, if you haven't escaped out all the code a semi-colon or quote in the input. If there was something in recent files that weren't in previous files it could explain it.
__________________
________________________________
Find me on twitter: @entrecon
entrecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Contents ©PowWeb, Inc. ~ vBulletin, Copyright 2000-2007 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.