|
| Register now to interact with over 11,000 members! Registered users have Posting Privileges, free access to Private Messaging, Email Notifications and more. |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Registered
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 25
Reputation: 5
|
Client host blocked using bl.spamcop.net
Starting sometime on 9/5/2004, Emails that I send to my POWWEB mail from my local ISP mail are being blocked by bl.spamcop.net. Mail that I send anywhere else is OK Returned message is: This is the Postfix program at host mx4.broadbandsupport.net. The Postfix program <sghogan@sghogan.com>: host mail.sghogan.com[66.152.97.36] said: 554 Service unavailable; Client host [209.55.0.107] blocked using bl.spamcop.net; Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?209.55.0.107 (in reply to RCPT TO command) My ISP SMPT server is: SMTP.PATMEDIA.NET 67.32.118.35 I am not sure how 209.55.0.107 is associated with my EMail. Following the link in the return message says: host 209.55.0.107 = mx4.broadbandsupport.net (cached) What can I do to fix this?
__________________
sghogan |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TX
Posts: 12,382
Reputation: 248
|
You'll need to contact your ISP's abuse department. Let them know that they're being blacklisted by spamcop. They'll need to take it from there.
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Registered
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 25
Reputation: 5
|
It seems strange that it is only mail that I send from Patmedia.net to POWWEB "Mydomain.com" that is being rejected. All other mail from Patmedia is OK.
The SPAMCOP link shows : host 209.55.0.107 = mx4.broadbandsupport.net (cached) witt a Reporting addresses: postmaster@vcinet.net Should I contact them first? Thanks
__________________
sghogan |
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
XPW
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 9,464
Reputation: 265
|
It seems that PowWeb is now using the Spamcop blocklist as one of its DNS blocklists. This is good. So mail sent to PowWeb from a server on the blocklist will be rejected.
SpamCop says that 209.55.0.107 has been "caught sending mail to spamtraps" - secret e-mail addresses that never receive legitimate mail. Your ISP has some other servers with spam activity reported, but 107 is the only one on the blocklist. Once the spamming stops from the server for 48 hours, SpamCop drops it off the list automatically. It has been 32 hours on the list as of this writing.
__________________
Steve |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Registered
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 25
Reputation: 5
|
Thanks but I have a question. 209.55.0.107 is not my ISP but it appears that when I send an Email to my POWWEB ID it gets routed through 107. Sometimes it goes through 106 and makes it OK.
It goes from my ISP Patmedia.net 67.32.118.35. to 209.55.0.107 and sometimes 106) to mail3.powweb.com That is what is in the Email header. So I am confused. It is not my ISP (Patmedia.net) mail server that has been blacklisted but a server that I am not familiar with, mx4.broadbandsupport.net, that my EMail passes through to get to powweb. None of my other EMails take that route and work OK. ![]()
__________________
sghogan |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
XPW
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 9,464
Reputation: 265
|
Your emails probably do go through one of the broadbandsupport.net servers, but you're not aware of it. You should ask your ISP about this.
__________________
Steve |
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|