PowWeb Forums - The Perfect Community for the Perfect Host  

Register now to interact with over 11,000 members! Registered users have Posting Privileges, free access to Private Messaging, Email Notifications and more.

Go Back   PowWeb Community Forums > The PowWeb Platform > Statistics / Logs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-6-05, 08:39 AM   #1
armenica
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Reputation: 0
Question Run my own webalizer instead of powweb's

Hi!

We have been using webalizer for our sites since couple of years back and I had a cron job in our previous server space. When I saw that powweb had webalizer already installed I just turned it on, but discovered that the configuration is not as we wanted it to be, so I tried to run my own. I tried to start a cronjob where I called our webalizer by cron command (just to see that it works):

5 * * * * /www/a/username/htdocs/statCat/webalizer

This called the script and I got an report email which said:

Webalizer V2.01-10 (FreeBSD 4.11-RELEASE) English
Using logfile STDIN (clf)
Creating output in current directory
Hostname for reports is 'ftp07.powweb.com'
History file not found...
No valid records found!

In our previous server I called a shell script file which simply did:

cd /www/a/username/htdocs/statCat/
./webalizer

I tried this also, but it just prints these two lines in the email and nothing else happens.

So I followed the instructions at

http://kb.powweb.com/questions/284/Using-Webalizer

in order to see if I was doing something wrong. Howevr, nothing is updated in the statistics (I have turned off the stats from OPS) with this option either.

Have I missed something in the process of how to get this working?
armenica is offline  
Old 10-6-05, 01:16 PM   #2
RTH10260
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,938
Reputation: 126
Looking at the KB article, I believe that cron job line is in error and the one you did use and show above is correct. But the content of the conf file should be created as described in the KB article and customized as shown.
_________________
(KB article has been reported for review).
__________________
Regards - Richard
RTH10260 is offline  
Old 10-6-05, 04:09 PM   #3
armenica
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Reputation: 0
Well, it doesn't work....
armenica is offline  
Old 10-7-05, 02:49 AM   #4
armenica
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Reputation: 0
...the struggle continues...

The script is running, the paths are correct, the email is sent, but nothing gets updated!

Anyone?!......
armenica is offline  
Old 10-7-05, 01:09 PM   #5
extras
on hiatus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,815
Reputation: 314
You need to show more data.

If you have a problem, probably you made an error in setup or configuration.
So, you need to show the way you set it up, and all configurations.
Otherwise it's pretty hard to guess what went wrong.

If you can't make it work, you can always use PowWeb supplied version,
or hire someone, too.

Last edited by extras; 10-7-05 at 02:32 PM..
extras is offline  
Old 10-8-05, 07:09 AM   #6
armenica
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Reputation: 0
Hi!

I sorted it. Added #!/bin/sh in the beginning of createStats and the same row to the beginning of the crontab line. Now it changes directory to my designated URL and calls my local webalizer with my own webalizer.conf which contains my own specified configuration.

Are the log files updated (copied to the "yesterday" file) at midnight (00:00)? I want to set the crontab at a minute or so before that moment, so I guess 23:59 each day should do the trick, right?
armenica is offline  
Old 10-8-05, 08:03 AM   #7
RTH10260
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,938
Reputation: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by armenica
Are the log files updated (copied to the "yesterday" file) at midnight (00:00)? I want to set the crontab at a minute or so before that moment, so I guess 23:59 each day should do the trick, right?
Why don't you just use 'yesterday' s copy at some time past midnight PDT ? This would also decrease the burden on the systems that get hit with a midnight peak (eg set to one hour before you intend to start looking at the stats in the morning ).

(PS. technically switching log files, I don't believe it is a copying operation but just a renaming thru the name cycle)

Edited to add: midnight is of course 09:00 European time, so my comment about reading the stats 'in the morning' may need some adjustment
__________________
Regards - Richard
RTH10260 is offline  
Old 10-8-05, 08:18 AM   #8
armenica
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Reputation: 0
TRUE! It should have the same result.
armenica is offline  
Old 10-8-05, 10:18 AM   #9
extras
on hiatus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,815
Reputation: 314
If the 'cd' was the only problem, it could be done like this, too.
5 * * * * cd /www/a/username/htdocs/statCat; ./webalizer

You can put multiple commands in a crontab separatd by semicolon ; just like shell command line.
extras is offline  
Old 10-10-05, 03:56 AM   #10
armenica
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 37
Reputation: 0
Thanks!
armenica is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Contents ©PowWeb, Inc. ~ vBulletin, Copyright 2000-2007 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.