PowWeb Forums - The Perfect Community for the Perfect Host  

Register now to interact with over 11,000 members! Registered users have Posting Privileges, free access to Private Messaging, Email Notifications and more.

Go Back   PowWeb Community Forums > Other Forums > Computer Help
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7-5-02, 07:00 PM   #1
sasusacorp
 
Posts: n/a
hackers

Any help on this subject - I have had this one guy trying to hack into my computer for the last 2 weeks, I have his ip address - is there anyway I can get his email address, i have contacted sprintnet.net who this guy is using but they have an auto responder and no phone number, i am getting very erate. help!

andy

Sorry the ip address was sprintlink.net I am using McAfee for the fire wall

Andy

Last edited by sasusacorp : 7-5-02 at 08:41 PM.
 
Old 7-5-02, 08:02 PM   #2
RSaucier
Registered Idiot
 
RSaucier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lexington, KY, USA
Posts: 1,244
Reputation: 5
What are you using for a firewall? Are you running any servers that force you to leave ports open?

Robert
RSaucier is offline  
Old 7-5-02, 08:13 PM   #3
(jj)
 
(jj)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: n/a
Posts: 7,279
Reputation: 202
I'd say that whoever that person is, is either hiding behind the IP for sprintnet.net or spoofing that IP number. Since sprintnet.net's domain name expired a month ago and the name seems to be for sale.

If you wish to try and contact the owner of the domain, here is the Who Is info.....

Domain Name: SPRINTNET.NET

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
RareNames, WebReg
4200 Wisconsin Avenue NW #106-190
Washington, DC 20016-2143
US
202-478-0990
202-478-0990 [fax]
brokerage@buydomains.com

Domain created on 06-Jun-2000
Domain expires on 06-Jun-2002
Last updated on 06-Jun-2000

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.BUYDOMAINS.COM 208.254.3.177
THIS-DOMAIN-FOR-SALE.COM 128.121.3.72


Just my "For What It's Worth"
__________________
If silence is golden, then I must be worth million$

(jj)
Jack
(jj)'s Playground
(jj) is offline  
Old 7-5-02, 08:29 PM   #4
Starr
 
Posts: n/a
If you have the IP, do a traceroute to it, or better yet, do a "whois -a" and find out who is responsible for that netblock, and complain to their abuse dept.

Make sure you include logs w/ time and date stamps as well as a compete explanation of events.
 
Old 7-5-02, 09:04 PM   #5
sasusacorp
 
Posts: n/a
how do you do a traceroute - all my ports are blocked.
 
Old 7-6-02, 06:55 PM   #6
MannInc
 
Posts: n/a
If you're running Windows:

Start, Programs, MS Dos Prompt

Type in tracert and the IP address
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Contents ©PowWeb, Inc. ~ vBulletin, Copyright © 2000-2007 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.